My Family’s Cookbook: Monkey Bread

Sometimes, if you’re lucky, you’re able to have breakfast that tastes like dessert. In the case of something like my favorite Grilled Peaches with Cinnamon and Brie (I will stop talking about them eventually. I promise.), it’s because of the natural, healthy sweetness of fruit. But in the case of this week’s recipe, it’s because of good ol’ fashioned sugar, butter and all that other stuff that I’m not sure would be considered part of a balanced breakfast. šŸ˜‰

IMG_7454

But that’s okay. A little indulging here and there isn’t so bad, and if you’re going to have an indulging breakfast, this Monkey Bread may be justĀ the thing you need. I first had Monkey Bread a few years ago, and I thought that I was the last one to find out about it. Recently, however, I’ve come across some people who hadn’t heard of it, so if there are any other Monkey Bread novices out there, I’ll give you some background info on this delicious treat.

IMG_7446

It was explained to me that Monkey Bread got its name because of the way you eat it. Bits of biscuits are cooked together to create the entire bread, which makes it easy for breakfast go-ers to pull apart or pick off pieces to eat, similar to the way monkeys pick things. I know – kind of gross. But I swear you’ll forget about that after trying this for yourself. The pieces are so soft and sweet, and when you get it fresh out of the oven – mm! It’s the best.

IMG_7466

{Don’t mind the bits of yellow. I may have eaten eggs right before taking this picture.}

ThisĀ canĀ get a bit messy, so for all those who would like to avoid that, I have a tip that my family just discovered: tongs! Instead of picking the Monkey Bread apart with your hands (the most fun way) or attempting to cut a piece with a knife (perhaps the least successful way), use tongs to serve yourself. It’s easy to get a good-sized portion at once, and it doesn’t leave a mess! Tell me: do you have any sneaky food tricks?

IMG_7458

Monkey Bread

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 cans Pillsbury Grands Homestyle Refrigerated buttermilk biscuits
  • 1/2 Cup chopped walnuts, if desired
  • 1 Cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 Cup butter, melted

Instructions

  • Heat oven to 350Ā° F.
  • Lightly grease 12-cup fluted tub pan.
  • In large plastic food-storage bag, mix sugar and cinnamon.
  • Separate dough into 16 biscuits (there are 8 in each can); cut each into quarters.
  • Shake biscuits in bag to coat.
  • Arrange biscuits in pan, adding walnuts among the biscuit pieces.
  • Mix brown sugar and butter; pour over biscuit pieces.
  • Bake 28 to 32 minutes or until golden brown and no longer doughy in center.
  • Cool in pan 10 minutes.
  • Turn upside down onto serving plate; pull apart to eat. Serve warm and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “My Family’s Cookbook: Monkey Bread

Leave a Reply

