Mini Eggplant Pizzas

So lately, I’ve been actively trying to add more vegetables to my diet. I love veggies, and I’ve always eaten them on a regular basis, but I’ve really wanted to be sure recently that I’m eating enough of them. And while I do have a fondness for vegetables, sometimes I find it difficult to create interesting meals out of them. I can only eat so many salads before I start to get bored. I started looking around the Internet, and eventually I came across the idea for Mini Eggplant Pizzas – perfect! Eggplant is hearty enough on its own that it can serve as the main focus of a meal, and you can top it with whatever you want! And let’s face it: anything sounds more interesting when the word “pizza” is involved.

IMG_7536

And I now think I’ve found my new favorite lunch. My original plan was to make an entirely veggie pizza, but after realizing I had a good deal of leftovers from our pasta dinner the night before, I decided to switch up my plan a bit. After baking my eggplant pieces for 15 minutes, I removed them from the oven and topped them with some tomato sauce, Parmesan cheese and crumbled up meatball. I love how it looks and tastes like you’re using so much to make these mini pizzas, but in reality, I used less than half an eggplant, a few spoonfuls of tomato sauce, a bit of Parmesan cheese and only half a meatball! And that made these three glorious mini pizzas (I must note though that one of them was a super baby pizza, since it was the chopped end of the eggplant.).

IMG_7509

I put everything back in the oven for 5 more minutes to allow the cheese to get nice and melt-y and for the other toppings to get warm, and then I had my finished product. I added a bit of salad on the side, and my veggie-centered meal was complete! The eggplant works great as the crust substitute, and I was especially pleased with how filling the pizzas were. I was so happy, in fact, that I made them for lunch *again* the next day! When I tell you I have a new favorite meal, I’m serious about it. I recently said that Grilled Peaches with Cinnamon and Brie was my new favorite breakfast, so for the past few days, I’ve eaten almost the same exact things: peaches for breakfast, eggplant pizzas for lunch and something different for dinner. When the meals are easy, tasty and filling, why bother making anything else? 😉

IMG_7552

Mini Eggplant Pizzas

Recipe adapted from Detoxinista

Ingredients

  • 1/2-inch thick eggplant pieces
  • Whatever toppings you please (I used tomato sauce, Parmesan cheese and crumbled meatball).

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • Cut an eggplant into 1/2-inch thick pieces.
  • Place the eggplant on a prepared baking sheet.
  • Bake eggplant for 15-20 minutes.
  • Remove eggplant from oven and add toppings.
  • Bake eggplant for another 5 minutes or until toppings are cooked/warmed.
2 thoughts on “Mini Eggplant Pizzas

Leave a Reply

