Grilled Peaches with Cinnamon and Brie

To me, peaches are one of those fruits that screams “summertime.” I’ve always enjoyed a good, juicy peach, since you don’t have to prepare it in any particular way for it to be tasty. The entire summer though, I’ve seen all sorts of things talking about different types of fruit to grill, and peaches have been mentioned numerous times. Therefore, I decided to put my grilling skills to the test, and I now have a new favorite breakfast: grilled peaches with cinnamon and Brie.

IMG_7369

It’s such a simple meal, yet it tastes like a decadent treat. I think it could definitely work as a dessert, but I love it for breakfast. Before I do anything with the peach, I take my piece of Brie out of the refrigerator, since Brie is best served at room temperature. By the time I finish preparing my peach, the cheese is ready to go. Then I cut my peach however I please. I’m sure there’s a “proper” way to slice a peach, but I really don’t care about that. I just like to have lots of smaller pieces to work with. One important thing to note when picking out a peach to grill: you want to avoid soft peaches and pick one that is pretty hard. There should just barely be any resistance when you squeeze it, but don’t worry – the peach will soften after it’s been grilled. After I cut my peach, I make sure to coat the pieces in oil, and I throw them on the grill! I’ve been using my friend’s handy dandy George Foreman grill, which works great. I may get one for myself when I move back to Massachusetts just so I can continue to easily prepare my grilled peach breakfast!

IMG_7350

My favorite part (besides the taste, of course) is seeing those beautiful grill marks on the peach slices. The peach will cook even if you don’t see grill marks, but I like them, so I cook each piece until I see the marks on one side, and then I flip them over and cook them until they appear on the other side. I then remove them from the grill, sprinkle some cinnamon on top and voilà! You’ve got yourself a gourmet breakfast for one. If you’re not the biggest cinnamon fan, feel free to leave it out. I forgot to add the cinnamon once, and it was still a delicious meal. Grilling the peach really brings out its sweetness, and the Brie complements it quite nicely. I hope you all give this one a try and let me know: do you have any favorite grilled fruit recipes?

IMG_7375

Grilled Peaches with Cinnamon and Brie

Ingredients

  • 1 hard peach
  • oil
  • cinnamon
  • Brie

Instructions

  • Place the Brie on a plate so that it will be room temperature by the time you’re ready to eat your peach.
  • Cut your peach however you’d like, and coat the pieces in oil.
  • Place the peach pieces on the grill and cook until you can see grill marks. Flip the pieces over and cook for just as long.
  • Removes the peach pieces from the grill, sprinkle some cinnamon on top and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Grilled Peaches with Cinnamon and Brie

Leave a Reply

