S’more of the Week: Chocolate Fudge S’mores Mug Cake

Oh, the magical mug cake. I’m definitely a fan, although I’ve only made a few of them before. This week though, I decided I was in need of a mug cake, mostly because there are just so many desserts around the house right now that I really can’t afford to make a recipe that would yield at least 12 of something (ie: cookies, brownies, etc). And I don’t mean my wallet can’t afford it; I mean my waistline. 😉 I’m specifically putting the blame on those chocolate chip pudding cookies from the other day. I’ve had to start giving them away because it’s too easy to inhale a few before I realize what I’ve done! I even thought about putting Nutella on a cookie and then eating it…I didn’t, but I could have.

IMG_7412

Therefore, a single serving mug cake seemed like the perfect choice for this week’s s’more recipe. I’m always a little hesitant with mug cakes because everybody’s microwave is different, and it’s a bummer when you end up with an overcooked cake. To my pleasure though, this one came out perfectly! It was cooked through but still had some gooey patches, which is just how I like my mug cakes. And if you check out the comments section under the recipe on How Sweet It Is, you can find a bunch of variations people have done so you can make this just the way you want it.

IMG_7424

I’m definitely pleased with how mine came out though. And I have to say, I actually forgot that this was called the “Chocolate Fudge S’mores Mug Cake,” and after having a few bites I thought to myself, “Wow, this tastes so fudge-y!” So does this mug cake live up to its name? Why yes, I believe it does.

IMG_7411

Chocolate Fudge S’mores Mug Cake

Recipe adapted from How Sweet It Is

Ingredients

  • 2-3 Tbs graham cracker crumbs
  • 3 1/2 Tbs unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 Tbs granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 Cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 Tbsp milk chocolate (chopped or morsels)
  • marshmallows or marshmallow fluff/cream

Instructions

  • Combine 3 Tbsp butter and 2 Tbsp chocolate in a small bowl. Melt in the microwave for 20-30 seconds and set aside.
  • In a separate bowl, combine remaining melted butter with 2-3 Tbsp (I used 2) of graham cracker crumbs and stir until moistened. Press graham cracker crumbs into bottom of mug.
  • In a bowl, whisk egg, sugar and vanilla until smooth. Add flour, baking powder, salt and cocoa and stir until a thick batter forms.
  • Gradually add melted butter and chocolate, mixing to combine. Then fold in remaining chocolate.
  • Pour half the batter into the mug. Add some marshmallows or a scoop of marshmallow fluff/cream.
  • Pour remaining batter into mug and place in the microwave for 1-2 minutes, depending on the strength of your microwave. (I put mine in for 1 minute and 20 seconds, knowing that I would put it back into the microwave for a little while to melt the marshmallows I would add on top).
  • Top with additional marshmallows if you would like, and then put the mug back into the microwave to melt the marshmallows a bit. (I put mine in for an additional 20 seconds. Be careful though, since you don’t want to put the mug back in for too long and overcook the cake). You can also place the mug directly under the broiler for about 10 seconds so that the marshmallows become toasted.
  • If you would like, feel free to add some more graham cracker crumbs to the top and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

