Nutella Cookies

Note: I apologize for the disappointing picture to word ratio. As you will soon read, I ended up making these cookies in the wee hours of the morning, and in my tired state, I sort of forgot the camera and ended up with one not-too-great photo. I was going to take some more photos later, but the cookies turned out so good that they were actually all gone before I could photograph them!

Oh, Nutella. Where to begin. If some sort of study came out with the title “Nutella Most Beloved Food Ever,” I wouldn’t be surprised. In the past few years, it seems like Nutella has gone from something most people didn’t know about to something everybody knows about and loves. I, myself, have been known to depend upon its chocolate-y goodness as my sole means of sustenance (aka I was studying abroad and in order to save money, bought a loaf of bread, a tub of Nutella, and ate Nutella sandwiches for entire weekend trips…sometimes without the bread). So naturally, I was pretty excited to find this recipe for Nutella cookies. I was also excited because I have this really cool cookie cutter I’ve been dying to use for a while, and this is supposed to be a cookie-cutter friendly recipe. So naturally again, you can understand why I was a bit disappointed when I encountered a few bumps along the way to Nutella cookie goodness.

IMG_7231

I’m not quite sure what it was, but my cookie cutter and the dough were not cooperating. The dough wasn’t hard enough to retain the shape of the cookie cutter, and even after I chilled the dough for a half an hour, it still wasn’t working. It was like the counter was piping heat into the dough and making it lose its chill factor. I’m sure you’re tempted to make these cookies now. But seriously – you still should be! In my frustration, I wrapped up the rest of the dough I had, put it in the refrigerator, and left it there. It was only after three hours and around 12:30 a.m. that I chose to give it another shot. I decided to forgo the cookie cutter and instead just rolled the dough into balls and baked them that way. I probably would have had better luck with the cookie cutter this time, since the dough wasn’t basically melting in front of me anymore.

And in the end – you guessed it – the cookies were great! Granted I ran into some frustration along the way, but there’s no denying that they were still some pretty darn good cookies. I’ll tell you what I did below, but just because I chilled the dough for three hours doesn’t mean you have to. As long as you can get the dough on the tray to bake, it should be smooth sailing! And in case you’re wondering what my super duper awesome cookie cutter is (because I know you are), you’ll have to wait! I’ve decided that I want to surprise you all with my beautiful cookie cutter cookies once I find a recipe that I like and they come out perfectly. Oh, the suspense!

Nutella Cookies

Adapted from The Waspy Redhead

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup Nutella
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 cups flour

Instructions

  • Cream together Nutella, butter and sugars. Add and mix the egg and then vanilla.
  • In a separate bowl, mix baking powder with flour.
  • Add flour a cup at a time to the Nutella mixture.
  • Chill the dough for as long as you deem necessary (I left the dough in the refrigerator for about 3 hours, but it very well could have been done long before that).
  • If using a cookie cutter, roll dough out onto lightly floured surface and make shapes with cookie cutter dipped in flour. Otherwise, roll dough into balls or spoon dough onto cookie tray.
  • Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes. My oven took on the longer side, so it would be a good idea to check them earlier as well. The original poster said hers took about 10-13 minutes.
Leave a Reply

