My Family’s Cookbook: Jamaican Rice

Lately I’d been feeling as if I was only making and posting dessert recipes. And then I took a look through the blog and realized that the reason I felt that way is because I was only making and posting dessert recipes. Now don’t get me wrong, I love desserts, but I didn’t want you all to start thinking that I just consume desserts 24/7 (although wouldn’t that be a magical life?). In all seriousness though, I like to have some variety, and it has been a few weeks since I published a non-dessert food. So I took a look through the family cookbook and decided it was time to make some Jamaican Rice.

IMG_7034

This recipe is super simple. You basically add the ingredients to a pot and wait until the rice absorbs all the liquid, and you’re done. Although the recipe calls for white rice, I used brown rice since that’s what I had on hand (and it’s better for you anyway!), so feel free to use whatever kind your heart desires.

I really enjoyed how fragrant this recipe was throughout the entire process. The coconut milk, the lime, the scallions – everything came together to form a delightful scent. And of course the better something smells, the more excited I am to eat it!

IMG_7016

{Next time I’ll use a larger pot. Everything just barely fit!}

And boy, was I pleased when I finally got a taste. After the rice absorbs the water and coconut milk, it has a wonderfully creamy texture. You can customize the taste a bit by adding as much salt and pepper as you want, but I took a piece of the lime I had zested and squeezed some juice on top of my rice. Oh.My.Goodness. So good. I ate this by itself for dinner, but there are plenty of ways you could serve it. In my family cookbook, the last step is actually “Serve with Chipotle Lime Chicken Thighs,” so I’ll have to make those sometime to share with you! Other ideas I had were to add some some pineapple for an extra pop of flavor (and color!) or even to wrap some in a tortilla with your favorite toppings for a simple burrito. There are tons of possibilities for this, and if you have some other ideas, I’d love to hear them!

IMG_7030

Jamaican Rice

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups brown or white rice
  • 1 (14 oz.) can coconut milk
  • 2 3/4 cups water
  • 1 (15 oz.) can red beans, drained
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp. finely grated lime zest
  • 1/4 cup chopped scallions
  • salt & freshly ground black pepper

Instructions:

  • In a medium sauce pan, combine coconut milk and water and bring to a boil.
  • Add rice, beans, thyme and lime zest and simmer, covered 20 minutes or until rice is cooked and liquid absorbed.
  • Fold in scallions and season to taste with salt and pepper.

I linked this recipe to Sweet & Savoury Sundays.

2 thoughts on “My Family’s Cookbook: Jamaican Rice

Leave a Reply

