S’more of the Week: Frozen S’mores Parfait

So this installment of “S’more of the Week” marks one month of s’more recipes on the blog! I’m not entirely sure how long I’ll keep doing a weekly s’more, but I definitely won’t be stopping soon, especially after making this week’s recipe: frozen s’mores parfait. This is definitely one of my favorite chocolate/marshmallow/graham cracker combos so far, and I’m excited to share it with you!

IMG_6981

It always makes me happy to find a recipe that tastes much more indulgent than it really is, and I think this dessert falls under that category. Of course, mini marshmallows aren’t exactly a recommended dietary staple, but the main attraction in this is the “ice cream,” which is just 2-ingredient banana ice cream. All you have to do is blend some frozen bananas and cocoa powder, and you instantly have a creamy treat that has the sweetness of bananas and the slight bitterness of dark chocolate. If you’re not a huge dark chocolate fan, feel free to decrease the amount of cocoa powder. I’m sure it will taste just as delicious.

IMG_6984

And while we’re on the topic of modifications, if you don’t have a food processor or blender, fear not! You can still make this. I had sliced my bananas into coins before freezing them in order to make it easier for my blender, but it still wasn’t quite able to blend everything the way I wanted it to. Simply using a fork to mash the banana resulted in that same creamy consistency, and when it came time to add the cocoa powder, the fork again was just as effective at mixing everything together. In the end, I had just as tasty a mixture as I would have had if a food processor had been involved.

IMG_6987

{Which is proven by this here empty glass.}

This recipe technically makes 2 servings, but I just placed everything in one glass and Boyfriend and I split it. I actually ended up using the graham crackers as a spoon à la s’more dip while I generously donated the real spoon to Boyfriend. 😉 Once Boyfriend decided he was finished and handed the spoon over to me though, the rest was gone in a flash – this dessert is too good to stick around for a while!

IMG_6978

Frozen S’mores Parfait

Recipe adapted from The Wannabe Chef

Ingredients (makes 2 servings):

  • 2 large frozen bananas
  • 3 Tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup mini mashmallows or 2 Tbsp. Fluff
  • 2 graham crackers

Instructions:

  • Put frozen bananas into food processor or blender and blend until creamy. If this does not work, use a fork to mash bananas until you have reached desired consistency.
  • Add cocoa powder and pulse in food processor until it is well mixed with the banana, or stir it in yourself.
  • Place chocolate-banana ice cream into bowl(s).
  • Add marshmallows or fluff to the top of mixture. I microwaved my marshmallows briefly so that they were warm and a little gooey.
  • Add graham crackers and serve immediately. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

