My Family’s Cookbook: Spiced Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

I’ve been making a lot of cookies lately, which normally doesn’t happen. I mean, I love cookies, but I like trying out different types of foods and desserts, so I normally don’t make the same type of thing multiple times in a row (except s’mores for the time being, but come on, if anything deserves to be the exception to the rule, it’s s’mores). But last week, I made my great-grandmother’s lemon sugar cookie crisps, a few days later I was overcome with a powerful urge to make molasses cookies again, and this week I’m here with spiced oatmeal raisin cookies.

IMG_6913

One reason I decided to make these was that I actually already had almost every single ingredient I needed to make them. Given the apartment-lifestyle I currently lead (AKA cooking and buying food just for myself), this usually isn’t the case, so I typically have to go out and buy pretty much everything I need to make something. Obviously, I took this possession of ingredients as a sign that these cookies were meant to be made ASAP. Another reason I felt it was time to try these cookies is that, as you may recall me saying last week, I’ve been a pretty big fan of each of the recipes I’ve tried from the family cookbook that have been from my great-grandmother, and this is another one of hers. I’ll have to double-check, but I believe this may mark the end of the great-grandmother recipes in the cookbook. It’s a bit of a bummer since I have thoroughly enjoyed making and eating all of them so far, but at least now I have multiple cookie recipes that I know I can always count on when I need them!

IMG_6909

The funny thing about oatmeal raisin cookies is that they are the only way I will voluntarily consume raisins and like them. I’m not sure what it is; I suppose if you throw anything into a cookie, I’ll eat it (potential idea for parents trying to get their kids to eat veggies? :P). I’m the type of person though who, upon being given a bag of trail mix, will first eat all of the M&Ms followed by the pretzels and nuts, only to leave an entire bag of raisins leftover. I even tried a raisin by itself while waiting for the cookies to bake to see if anything had changed. I made sure that my mind was a judgement-free zone before eating it, but I still wasn’t a fan. Oh well. As long as I still like them in cookies, that’s fine with me.

IMG_6933

I’m actually bringing these to a graduation party for my dear roommate today, so I’m hoping they go over well! They’re nice and soft and taste just as an oatmeal raisin cookie should, so I think they’ll pull through for me. And if they don’t, that just means more for me! 😉

IMG_6935

Spiced Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2/3 cup milk – Feel free to use dairy or non-dairy milk. I used almond milk for mine!
  • 1 1/2 cups oatmeal
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 cup raisins

Instructions:

  • Cream the margarine, shortening, sugar and eggs.
  • Add the cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda and baking powder. Mix well.
  • Add milk and oatmeal. Mix well.
  • Stir in flour and add raisins.
  • Drop on a greased cookie sheet and bake at 375°F for 8-10 minutes. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

