S’more of the Week: Chocolate Banana Melts

Hello, everybody! I hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July weekend. Mine was definitely enjoyable, and by that I mean I consumed so much food that it soon became uncomfortable to walk. You think I’m kidding, but unfortunately I’m not. That’s why for this week’s s’more recipe, I decided I needed something a little lighter than the past few s’mores I’ve done. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love s’more dip, and I’m still surprised at how good the s’mores popcorn was, but I just couldn’t handle another super heavy s’more recipe. I decided I needed something with a bit of a healthier base, and that’s how I ended up choosing this recipe for chocolate banana melts…because anything that has a banana in it is healthy, right?

IMG_6856

I feel like it’s more of an assembly manual than a recipe, since you basically just throw sweets on top of a banana and bake it. That’s definitely not a complaint though, since there’s really nothing better in my book than a quickly put together dessert, especially in the summertime! All you have to do is slice a banana down the middle, stuff it with mini marshmallows and chocolate chips, and bake it in foil for about 6-8 minutes. After that, you add some crushed Cinnamon Toast Crunch on the top and bam! – chocolate banana melt.

IMG_6859

{It’s like a banana burrito!}

The only difficulty I had was that my banana completely split in half. On the website where I found the recipe, the picture makes it seem like the banana stayed together, but I suppose the author could have just pushed the slices back together. This is such a low-maintenance dessert though that I really didn’t feel the need to try to reassemble it. Maybe I should just call it an open-faced chocolate banana melt instead 😛 …Feel free to laugh at the badness of that joke.

IMG_6863

And one last note: you can also choose to grill these in foil instead of baking them in the oven. That is what I originally intended to do, but then I found out the grill was broken! They turned out fine in the oven though, so I deem this S’more of the Week a success!

IMG_6865

{Noms.}

Chocolate Banana Melts

Recipe adapted from Quick Dish

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • As many chocolate chips and mini marshmallows as you want
  • 1 small handful of Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal

Instructions:

  • Place banana on a piece of foil, and slice banana down the middle.
  • Stuff banana with chocolate chips and mini marshmallows.
  • Wrap banana in foil. Bake at 400°F for about 6-8 minutes.
  • Unwrap foil and sprinkle crushed Cinnamon Toast Crunch on top of banana. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

