My Family’s Cookbook: Lemon Sugar Cookie Crisps

A few months ago, I took a trip back home to Massachusetts and made these molasses cookies with my mom. I hadn’t made the recipe before, which comes from my great-grandmother, but they instantly became one of my favorite cookies after I inhaled half of them tried a few. They’re simple to make, yet they look so pretty and taste so good.

This weekend I’m back home again, and before leaving DC, I decided to make another of my great-grandmother’s cookies. After making these lemon sugar cookie crisps, I’m convinced that (great) grandmothers have the best dessert recipes. There’s nothing complicated about these cookies, yet there is so much to enjoy. Lemon, sugar and your choice of topping (I chose chocolate chips!) come together to form a tasty treat that makes you want to curl up on the couch and eat the whole batch.

I also enjoy these cookies because I think they’re fun to make. In order to sugar the tops of the cookies, you take a glass with a rounded bottom, dip it in oil and then sugar, and press it against the top of a spoonful of batter until the cookie has flattened into a circle. Even though I had to do this over 20 times, I liked seeing essentially the “before” and “after” shots. One thing to note: it’s not necessary to dip the glass in oil each time you sugar a cookie. As long as the bottom of the glass can still pick up sugar, you’re in the clear. Once it becomes difficult to do so, then you can dip the glass in oil again.

IMG_2281

So in the great-grandmother cookie recipes department, we’re 2 for 2! I’ll have to take a look and see if there’s anything else from her in the family cookbook that I can make. Do you have any favorite recipes from your grandparents or great-grandparents? Let me know in the comments below!

IMG_2251

Lemon Sugar Cookie Crisps

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup vegetable oil or canola oil, plus extra to sugar the cookies
  • 1 tsp. grated lemon rind
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 3/4 cup sugar, plus extra to sugar the cookies
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. baking powder

Instructions:

  • Beat the eggs.
  • Add oil, lemon rind, vanilla and sugar and beat well.
  • In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. Add to egg mixture and beat.
  • Line or grease a cookie sheet and drop rounded spoonfuls of the batter onto the sheet.
  • Using a flat-bottomed round glass, put oil on the bottom, dip in sugar and press down on each cookie.
  • Repeat for each cookie, making them flat, round and sugared.
  • Put a chocolate chip, butterscotch chip, M&M or walnut on top of each cookie.
  • Bake at 400°F for 8-10 minutes (or a little lower temperature if they get too brown) and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

