DIY: “Love You To Pieces” Candy Gift in a Jar

Happy 4th of July everybody! I hope you’re all having a relaxing day and partaking in some patriotic festivities! Today I’m actually sharing a DIY gift I made for another holiday recently: Father’s Day. I haven’t shared it until now because I had to wait for my dad to get his present in the mail (didn’t want to spoil the surprise!). He didn’t just get it, but my family isn’t exactly known for timely gift-giving, so it was a slightly belated present. But it’s the thought, not the timing, that counts, right? 😉

By now, it’s no secret that I am slightly obsessed with mason jars and anything that comes in a jar. I seem to mention it every chance I get. I also love love (love love love) Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. I don’t eat a lot of candy, but each time I go to the grocery store and see them I have to actively discourage myself not to buy a whole bunch and eat them immediately. Chocolate and peanut butter is definitely my Kryptonite. Therefore, you could imagine my excitement when I came across this project that combines so many of my favorite things! I thought briefly about using a different kind of candy, but my dad seems to be a fan of most candies, and if I like Reese’s products, then surely he likes them too! …this is what happens to my train of thought when chocolate and peanut butter are involved.

IMG_1974

But let’s get back on track. I tweaked a lot of things mentioned in the instructions to fit the materials I had readily available. I often think I have everything I need, but then I go to make whatever it is I’m making and realize that’s not the case. For my version, I used a larger jar (more candy – yay!), normal paper for the tie and collar (using a marker to color the tie), and tissue paper under the “love you to pieces” tag. I just outlined some tissue paper with the jar cap, cut multiple layers at once, and taped the individual layers together and to the cap so everything would stay in place.

So as you can see, it’s a pretty simple project that you can definitely customize for your own gift-giving needs. It surely doesn’t have to be reserved just for Father’s Day, and you could change up the candy and create a new phrase for the tag. Hershey’s Kisses would be another great option, since you could fit a bunch in the jar and I know all of you creative people could come with a phrase that involves “kisses” somehow! Have a great day, and if you have a favorite DIY project you’ve made before, let me know in the comments below!

IMG_1971

Leave a Reply

