Quinoa Caprese Salad

You know that feeling when it seems like it’s raining all the time? Maybe you have a few days of rain in a row, but you could swear it’s been one of the rainiest months ever? Well, that’s exactly what I’m going through. But for once, my feelings are justified, since June 2013 can officially go down in Washington, DC history as the 4th wettest June since 1871, and July isn’t off to much of a better start. Awesome.

But I don’t like to complain that much, since even when it’s a little gloomy, there’s always something to be happy about, right? For instance: colorful salads. I love bright, colorful meals. They always seem to make normal meals feel a bit more festive, which is especially pleasant when the weather is dreary! So when I saw this quinoa caprese salad recipe, I was all over it.

IMG_2199

Is it not beautiful? It’s just an added bonus that it’s tasty too! I actually served this along with the spicy chicken and arugula sandwiches I posted a few days ago, but it would definitely work as a light meal by itself. I say this with confidence because I did try having it as a meal by itself, and I would say it was a success. đŸ™‚

What more can I say? It’s pretty, tasty, and the basil makes it smell wonderful (if you like basil, I suppose. If not, sorry!). This is definitely a salad that touches on multiple senses and is a great pick-me-up for those less-than-sunny days. I hope wherever you are, you’re staying dry!

IMG_2200

Quinoa Caprese Salad

Recipe from The Fit Housewife

Ingredients (yields 5 cups):

  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 cup thinly slice mozzarella balls (bocconcini), halved
  • 2 Tbsp minced shallot
  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin oil
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • pinch of freshly ground pepper

Instructions:

  • Cook quinoa, following directions on package. Place cooked quinoa into a serving bowl.
  • Add tomatoes, basil and mozzarella.
  • In a different bowl, whisk together minced shallot, balsamic vinegar, olive oil and salt. Pour dressing over quinoa and toss so everything is coated.
  • Sprinkle a pinch of pepper over the quinoa and serve at room temperature. Enjoy!

Nutritional Information (per serving = 1 cup)

  • Calories: 177
  • Protein: 10g
  • Carbohydrates: 15g
  • Fat: 8g
  • Fiber: 2g
  • Sodium: 56mg
  • WW Points+: 4
Leave a Reply

