Double Chocolate Protein Muffins

So this week, Boyfriend and I had one of my dear friends over for dinner, which made me feel like quite the grownup, naturally. I’ve also been feeling like quite the grownup lately because I’ve been, *gasp*, watching what I eat. Oh, how I remember the days when I would happily split an entire pizza with somebody or when I would give someone a death glare for eating one of my french fries (okay…maybe that still happens. I take my fries seriously).

But alas, those crazy college days are over, and a new, health-conscious Tyne has emerged. I’ve been focusing on eating clean and telling myself it’s not a diet; it’s a lifestyle. But just because I’m trying to eat better doesn’t mean I’m going to rule out my delicious treats! It’s all about balance, so lately I’ve been trying out some recipes that are just as tasty but not as bad for me, whether it’s because they fall into the clean eating or low-calorie category.

IMG_1987

So when it came time to find a dessert I wanted to make for our dinner gathering, I was pretty pleased to come across this recipe for double chocolate protein muffins. Noms. Anything with “double chocolate” in the title sounds good to me, and it sounded even better as soon as I read that there are only 113 calories per muffin! 

IMG_2022

I was a little nervous though. Would the protein powder make the muffins taste funny? I didn’t want there to be that awkward “healthy” taste that really just means “bad.” I made a trial batch the night before dinner, and even though I accidentally skimped on a bit on the stevia, they were a hit! I made another batch the next day using the right amount of stevia, and oh man. I feel corny saying this, but you would never think that they were low-calorie or had protein powder in them because they were AMAZING! I highly encourage you to go make these muffins…like, right now. What are you waiting for?!

IMG_2004

Double Chocolate Protein Muffins

Recipe from Your Healthy Place

Ingredients (makes 8):

  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used chocolate)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 4 packets stevia or about 1-2 tsp
  • 3 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 Tbsp chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup low-fat cottage cheese
  • 6 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 egg

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 325°F.
  • Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and stir well.
  • Mix wet ingredients in a separate bowl until well blended.
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix them until they are just combined in order to avoid having tough muffins.
  • Add the chocolate chips, but if you’d like, you can add just 1 Tbsp of chocolate chips now and save the other Tbsp to put on top of the mix right before you put the muffins in the oven.
  • Bake for 25 minutes or until lightly golden and springy. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

