My Family’s Cookbook: Madeleines

Hello, everybody!

As I mentioned last week, I recently took a trip home to see my family. It was short but busy, and I even managed to make a few things for this here blog! I ultimately decided to make madeleines because I realized…my family already had everything to make them, and as any college student probably knows, a fully-stocked kitchen is a luxury.

IMG_1643

This was another Mama/Tyne project, and Mama had a few comments to make about the madeleines. She thought that we filled the tins a little too much and cooked them for a little too long, and although I do think she is right, I (and the rest of my family) still thought they tasted quite delicious.

IMG_1649

In the end, lesson learned: a little less batter and time in the oven so they turn out a bit more cake-like. But like I said, I still think they were a success because after all, how could anything covered in powdered sugar or chocolate possibly not taste great?

IMG_1651

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 C. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 3/4 C. sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • Confectioners’ sugar for dusting
  • Melted chocolate for dipping

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 450. Spray madeleine pans with cooking spray.
  • Sift flour, baking powder and salt together.
  • In small bowl, melt butter.
  • In mixing bowl, beat eggs, yolk, sugar and vanilla together with electric mixer on high until thick and pale yellow, about 2 minutes.
  • Alternate adding butter and the flour mixture to egg/sugar mixture, folding until well mixed.
  • Fill madeleine molds 3/4 full.
  • Bake for 6-10 minutes, until slightly golden and toothpick comes out clean.
  • Remove from pans and cool on rack. When thoroughly cooled, dust with confectioners’ sugar and/or dip in melted chocolate.
Leave a Reply

