Overnight Oats: Banana and Chocolate Protein Powder

Hello, everybody!

So you may remember that at one point, I was yearning for summer weather and ready to be done with winter. Well, it seems that DC has granted me that wish, with it transforming from winter to summer weather seemingly overnight. I know I was ready for it to be warmer, but I’m a fan of the gradual change in seasons, or at least experiencing spring to some degree. That doesn’t seem to be happening for now, but I suppose I should just be happy with what I have.

Now that we are experiencing the somewhat oppressive DC heat/humidity combo, my hot breakfast options aren’t quite cutting it. So what better time to introduce overnight oats? I still get to have my typical oatmeal breakfast but without the heat, making it a perfect option for those hot days.

IMG_1672

I was looking into some recipes and trying to figure out how I wanted to prepare my overnight oats, but nothing was making a very strong impression on me. I decided to basically wing it, and here’s what I came up with! I’m sure I’ll get a little more adventurous with my overnight oats in the future, but for now, we’ve got good ol’ reliable chocolate (protein powder, that is) and banana. Enjoy!

IMG_1674

Banana and Chocolate Protein Powder Overnight Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk (or whatever type of milk you prefer)
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • 1 banana

Instructions:

  • Combine oats, milk, cinnamon and protein powder in a bowl. Mix.
  • Place bowl in refrigerator for at least five hours (or overnight).
  • Remove bowl from fridge, slice banana and add to bowl. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

