My Family’s Cookbook: Molasses Cookies

Hello, everybody! It’s been a little while since I’ve done a family cookbook recipe, but as I said last time, my blogging schedule is getting back to normal so they should be making regular appearances once again. Even though I have fun with every recipe I do, I always enjoy making the family recipes so much more, so I’m glad they’re back.

I was particularly looking forward to making these molasses cookies. The recipe is from my great grandmother, who lived with my great grandfather on a dairy farm. Although I don’t remember too much about them, I do have a very vivid memory of my great grandfather trying to get me to milk a cow as a child – I wasn’t exactly thrilled with the idea then, but it’s funny to think about now.

I actually took a trip back home for a weekend, so I got to make these cookies with my mom! It was quite fitting, since the recipe comes from her grandmother, so it truly felt like a family affair. These cookies are quick to make and so yummy – I inhaled about seven of them as soon as they came out of the oven. They make the house smell wonderful too, giving me another excuse to make them again soon!

IMG_1614

Molasses Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 C flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 C butter
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1/4 C dark molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves

Instructions:

  • Cream butter and sugar until fluffy.
  • Add molasses and egg and mix.
  • Sift other ingredients together and add to molasses mixture. Mix again.
  • Form dough into a ball and cover with plastic wrap. Chill in the refrigerator for an hour.
  • Form dough into balls, roll in sugar and place on an ungreased cookie sheet.
  • Bake at 350° for about 10 minutes.
Leave a Reply

