My Family’s Cookbook: Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Barbecue

There are a few items in life that I’m weirdly obsessed with. One, as I’ve mentioned before, is mason jars, and the other is slow cookers. I just think slow cookers are amazing – you put in some food, turn it on and then after so many hours, you have a whole meal! Incredible. So I decided it was about time that I make a slow cooker recipe from the cookbook, and pulled pork seemed like a fine choice.

IMG_1307

I bought my ingredients, called my mom to ask if there was anything else I needed to know about this recipe (because I’m starting to realize that family recipes don’t always exactly…follow the recipe) and I was on my way. I decided to make the pulled pork at Boyfriend’s house, since I knew he would like to have some and it would just be easier to prepare it there, and I was told there was a slow cooker, so all would be fine. He wasn’t home when I first started the preparations, so I found this large object that had a warm and a cook button and figured, “Oh, this must be it.” But it looked a little strange for a slow cooker, so I took a picture of it and texted him asking if that was it. He confirmed that it was the slow cooker, so I was ready to go.

Note: this recipe is supposed to take about 8 hours to cook. Another note: after two hours, I opened the supposed slow cooker to find that it was basically done and if I left it cooking for much longer, it would be totally fried. I was a bit confused but since everything seemed fine, I continued on.

IMG_1323

I discussed this strange incident when Boyfriend came back. We did some investigating and realized what we thought was a slow cooker is actually…a rice cooker. Apparently some rumor spread among his roommates that it was a slow cooker, and nobody had tried to use it since then. I’m not even really embarrassed over the mistake since A. I sent a picture asking about it and B. it is a really strange (and large) looking rice cooker.

Now even though the recipe didn’t exactly go as planned, the pulled pork still turned out yummy, and I know the recipe works, so I’m going to give it below. Happy slow cooking, and enjoy!

IMG_1327

Pulled Pork Barbecue

Ingredients:

  • 4 lb. pork roast
  • 2 onions, sliced, divided
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 5 or 6 whole cloves
  • 16 oz. beer
  • 16 oz. or more of your favorite BBQ sauce
  • salt and pepper

Instructions:

  • Place one sliced onion at the bottom of the slow cooker.
  • Stud pork roast with cloves and season with salt and pepper.
  • Place roast in slow cooker on top of the sliced onion. Cover with second sliced onion and beer.
  • Add enough water or more beer to fill slow cooker two thirds of the way.
  • Cover and cook on low for 8 to 12 hours.
  • Remove roast. Remove and discard cloves, bone and fat as well as any water, onions and grease remaining in pot.
  • When roast is cool enough to handle, use a fork or your fingers to pull apart until the entire roast is shredded.
  • Return the pulled pork to the slow cooker. Mix in the chopped onion and BBQ sauce and cover.
  • Heat on high for 1-3 hours or until the onions are soft. Add water or more BBQ sauce if sauce is too thick.
Leave a Reply

