Baked Potato with Kale Topping

Hello, everybody!

It’s starting to feel a bit more like spring here in DC, which makes me very happy. Hopefully the weather isn’t playing a trick on me and is planning on sending some more winter weather our way. As I’m sure you know, Saint Patrick’s Day is quickly approaching, and even though it is still technically winter until the 20th, Saint Patrick’s Day always seems like a spring holiday – probably because of all the green.

Anybody who knows me well is aware of the fact that I’m a Christmas freak. I am one of those people who fights the urge to play Christmas music before Thanksgiving in order to give Thanksgiving it’s time in the spotlight (and because people seem to get very irritated when I play Christmas music that early).

So one might think that because I’m such a Christmas fanatic, I must love all holidays. Not that I dislike other holidays, but I usually don’t do many festive activities throughout the rest of the year – maybe it’s because I exhaust my supply of holiday cheer during the Christmas season. But now that I’ve started cooking more I thought that it might be fun to make something green in honor of St. Patty’s Day. Thus, I decided to make kale dip. I made it, took this snazzy picture but then decided…

IMG_1289

I wasn’t really sold on it. There were aspects of the dip that I did like and others that I didn’t. I used Greek yogurt, which made it a little tangy, but the tanginess seemed a bit out of place. It was light, but almost too light to dip vegetables in to. I had some friends try it and we were all of the consensus that it was good, but maybe it had a different purpose in life. Maybe it wasn’t meant to be a dip. Then Boyfriend came up with the idea of putting it on a baked potato. I thought that it was worth a shot and after all, what’s more Irish than a green potato?

So phase 2: baked potato. I just quickly baked it in the microwave after throwing some olive oil, salt and pepper on it, since I didn’t feel like taking an hour to bake a potato and then just end up having my concoction not taste good.

IMG_1291

And then the moment of truth. I cut the potato open, topped it with some of the kale dip, and bam! Much better. Of course you could put whatever else you want on it (I also ate some of the potato with a little bit of hot sauce), but I think it’s good just with the kale topping. So there you have it: re-purposed kale dip. I’d still like to try another kale dip recipe though, since it’s always nice to have a healthy dip option, so if you have any suggestions, feel free to leave them in the comments below! Hope you have a great rest of the week, and Happy Early Saint Patrick’s Day!

IMG_1298

Baked Potato with Kale Topping

Kale topping recipe adapted from Salted Spoon. Recipe makes 1 cup.

Ingredients:

  • 1 avocado
  • 3 cups of sliced kale leaves
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 Tablespoons of non-fat yogurt (I used Greek, but you can use whatever you want.)
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil (plus 1/2 Tablespoon for the kale and enough to cover potatoes)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • salt and pepper
  • as many potatoes as you please

Instructions

  • Wash kale and with a knife, thinly slice kale leaves.
  • In a skillet, heat half a Tablespoon of olive oil and add the minced garlic. Cook for a minute or two, just to soften it.
  • Add the kale and mix around to coat, and then add 1/2 cup of water.
  • Let cook for a few minutes until almost all of the water has evaporated. Set aside to cool.
  • In a blender or a food processor, add in the flesh of the avocado, the lemon juice, yogurt, tablespoon of olive oil, salt and pepper.
  • Pulse a few times to blend together, but don’t puree it. You want it well mixed, but not smooth. Add in the kale and pulse again until everything is blended together and thick and chunky.
  • Bake potato(es) however you please. I coated mine with olive oil, sprinkled it with salt and pepper, and used a fork to put some holes in it. I microwaved it on one side for five minutes, flipped over the potato, and microwaved it for another five minutes. The microwave I used isn’t that strong, so if you choose to microwave your potato, you may not need to cook it this long.
  • Cut open the potato, add some of the kale topping and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

