United States Botanic Garden Conservatory

Hello, everybody!

So I’m back with another DC adventure, although you may have noticed that I’ve decided to forgo the “Weekly Adventure” title. Part of that is because A. this adventure happened a few weeks ago, and I feel the need to be totally honest, which then led me to think B. why do I need to put the “weekly” label on it? Maybe this sounds like an unnecessary change, and maybe I’ll change it back, but for now, I like it this way. But anyway, let’s get on to the main event!

About the United States Botanic Garden Conservatory

The Conservatory is located on the National Mall near the Capitol, and it is just one part of the entire garden (the others are the National Garden and Bartholdi Park). The USBG was established in 1820, making it one of the oldest botanic gardens in America. Between 1997 and 2001, the Conservatory underwent some renovations, and it now features a number of permanent exhibits. Best of all, entry is free, and the Conservatory is open every day from 10 am – 5 pm.

My Experience at the Conservatory

My visit to the Conservatory was entirely unplanned; I actually ended up there after I visited Eastern Market a few weeks ago with Boyfriend. It was so windy and cold out that we decided to find somewhere to hide out for a few minutes, and we figured the Conservatory would be a good place (mostly because, as I just mentioned, it’s free). It actually turned out to be the perfect spot because the Conservatory is a giant greenhouse, so it was nice and cozy. Being surrounded by all of the plants in the warm (and slightly humid) air made me feel like I was somewhere nice and tropical, and needless to say, it was a bit painful to leave and go back out into windy DC.

IMG_1105

{wonderful little pool behind some flowers as you enter the Conservatory}

IMG_1110

{inside the “Jungle” room}

IMG_1113

{loved the story of the traveler’s tree}

For More About the Conservatory

The Conservatory is a fun place to check out, especially if you’re looking for an escape from some not-so-pleasant weather. For more on the Conservatory, take a look at the links below!

Leave a Reply

