My Family’s Cookbook: Spinach Strawberry Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing

Hello, all!

Apparently I’ve been going through a salad phase lately, since the last two recipes I’ve made from the family cookbook have been salads, and today I’m bringing you a third! I suppose I’ll have to start branching out soon, but for today: more salad.

I had never actually made this dressing myself before, and it was quite yummy but one thing I noted was that it is super sweet. That wasn’t very surprising since the recipe calls for 1/2 cup of sugar, but since the strawberries are sweet already, I think you could probably go with 1/4 cup of sugar for the dressing and be fine (my mom said the same thing, so we’ve got the mom stamp of approval on that statement). It’s quite scrumptious though, and the poppy and sesame seeds add a nice crunch to the salad. You could always use this as a base too and add all sorts of fun things to it! Blueberries, walnuts, feta cheese – the possibilities are endless!

IMG_1203

Spinach Strawberry Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 1 large bag baby spinach
  • 1 large package of strawberries, sliced

Dressing Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 2 Tbs. sesame seeds
  • 1 Tbs. poppy seeds
  • 1/2 C. vegetable oil
  • 1/4 C. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp. scallions
  • 1/4 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 tsp. paprika

Instructions:

  • Combine all dressing ingredients and mix well. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours.
  • In large bowl combine spinach and strawberries.
  • Toss with dressing to taste.

IMG_1205

Leave a Reply

