Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

Hello, everybody!

I must say, there aren’t many things I love more than breakfast food. I like to think of myself as a pretty open-minded person, but whenever somebody tells me they don’t like breakfast food, I am genuinely perplexed (same situation applies to anyone who doesn’t like chocolate – how?). Even though I’m more of an egg gal, lately I’ve been having pancakes – lots and lots of pancakes. Protein pancakes, to be precise. And I’m pretty much addicted. I’m convinced a large part of it is that eating healthy protein pancakes makes me feel I’m indulging without actually indulging. I think it’s a win-win since the pancakes taste good and I feel good too!

Normally, I use this recipe that I found on blogilates.com for my morning meal, but I decided to branch out (and use some of the random leftover pumpkin puree I had) into the vast world of protein pancakes. I didn’t branch out too far though in terms of a recipe source and went with one from blogilates, since I figured I’m such a fan of the first recipe, so why go looking for a pumpkin one somewhere else?

And the pancakes did not disappoint! I actually had them for dinner because one of the few things I do love more than breakfast food is breakfast for dinner. Now that I’ve tip-toed my way into the flavored protein pancake world, I’m ready to take the plunge and start making batches of any and every kind of pancake. Things could get out of control. If you would like to aid the madness and have a snazzy pancake recipe, share it in the comments below! Oh, and did I mention that there are only 211 calories in this entire recipe? Wootwoot!

IMG_1196

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

Recipe from blogilates.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 4 Tbs canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 Tbs ground flax seed
  • 2 egg whites or 1/4 cup liquid egg whites
  • 2 Tbs almond milk, soy milk, or skim milk
  • 1/2 tsp of Stevia
  • pinch of baking powder
  • dash cinnamon

Instructions:

  • Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.
  • Heat pan on med heat and spray with PAM.
  • Then pour batter on. Flip once small bubbles have formed on top.
Leave a Reply

