Weekly Adventure: Nordic Cool 2013

Happy Monday, everybody!

So lately, I’ve been seeing a lot about the Kennedy Center’s “Nordic Cool 2013” festival. I’m not sure if it was the name (which I think is awesome), the focus of the festival, or the fact that the front of the Kennedy Center would look like the Northern Lights, but I decided I really wanted to go. As I’m sure many of you can relate to, sometimes it’s difficult for me to get myself to leave the house during the winter when it’s cold and dark out, but since the front of the center wouldn’t be lit up until the evening, I made an exception to my hermit ways and trekked over. But before I keep going, let’s go over some background info, as always.

About the Kennedy Center/Nordic Cool 2013

In 1958, Dwight D. Eisenhower signed legislation to build a “National Cultural Center,” and it was decided the center would be named after John F. Kennedy shortly after his assassination in 1963. The Kennedy Center opened on September 8, 1971, and throughout the year, it hosts over 2,000 performances, including free nightly performances at its Millennium Stage.

The Nordic Cool 2013 festival will be at the center until March 17th, and it focuses on the cultures of Nordic countries and territories. There are a few free exhibits, and in addition, there are ticketed events focusing on everything from cuisine to dance. Click here for a calendar of events associated with the festival, and read on for a few highlights from my visit!

My Experience at Nordic Cool 2013

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m on a college-student budget (AKA I don’t have money), so I stuck to the free portions of the festival. Of course, I was greeted by the Northern Lights display outside of the Kennedy Center, which was quite nice and not captured all that well by my camera.

IMG_1167

Inside, I was immediately presented with this, which I was very confused about at first. I soon learned that the Finnish artist Kaarina Kaikkonen created the display out of 1,000 shirts from people in D.C. and used them to create two halves of a broken ship.

IMG_1182

I laughed for a second when I entered the Lego room, since I felt like all of a sudden I stepped into an Apple store due to all of the iPads. Lego is a Danish company, and there were many Lego tables available for anybody who wanted to let their inner child loose. I liked the quote by musician Pat Kane on one of the info signs, which said “Play will be to the 21st century what work was to the industrial age – our dominant way of knowing, doing, and creating value.” Who knew Legos could get so deep.

IMG_1179

For More About Nordic Cool 2013

I really enjoyed (and appreciated) the free portions of Nordic Cool 2013, and I encourage anyone in the area to check it out! If you’d like to find out more about the festival, take a gander at these handy links.

Leave a Reply

