My Family’s Cookbook: Mediterranean Orzo Salad with Feta Vinaigrette

Happy Weekend, everybody!

So I’m starting to get a little fed up with winter. The cold, the rain, the snow that’s so wet people are walking around with umbrellas – I’m just not really into it anymore. I made an attempt recently to make it feel like summer by playing the “Summer Hits of the 2000s” station on Pandora, making iced coffee, wearing my shorts and trying to let as much light into the room as possible. It was successful-ish.

I think my next attempt was a subconscious one, when I decided to make this salad from the family cookbook this week. I really just wanted to make something easy, but once I sat down to eat it, I realized how much it reminded me of summertime dinners. But back to the crucial points: it’s both delicious and easy. The only thing that requires cooking is the orzo, and then you just have to chop and add the rest of the ingredients.

So without further ado, check out the recipe below, and if you have any other let’s-make-it-feel-like-it’s-summertime ideas (or a ticket to a tropical destination), let me know in the comments section!

IMG_1040

Mediterranean Orzo Salad with Feta Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked orzo
  • 2 cups baby spinach, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
  • 3 tbs. chopped red onion
  • 3 tbs. chopped, pitted kalamata olives
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 6 oz marinated artichoke  hearts
  • 3/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled

Instructions:

  • Cook orzo according to package directions. Drain; rinse with cold water.
  • Combine orzo, spinach, and next 5 ingredients (through salt) in a large bowl.
  • Drain artichokes, reserving marinade.
  • Coarsely chop artichokes, and add artichokes, reserved marinade, and 1/2 cup feta cheese to orzo mixture, tossing gently to coat.
  • Sprinkle each serving with remaining feta cheese.
Leave a Reply

