No-Bake Energy Balls

Hello, everybody!

Lately during my internet perusing, I kept coming across pictures and recipes for energy balls. You can basically use whatever ingredients you want as long as they can stay together, and you can have them as a breakfast, snack, whatever you want! For some reason, at first I had a very cynical attitude regarding energy balls. I have no idea why. Sometimes I just get into cynical food moods, I suppose.

But then all of a sudden my thought process went from “I don’t understand why people need these” to “OH MY GOD I TOTALLY NEED THESE.” I’ve been waking up early lately to exercise in the morning, and I’m the type of person who needs to eat something pretty much the second they wake up, so I thought a few of these energy balls would be the perfect early morning, pre-workout fuel.

I used this formula from Food Doodles to create my concoction…and they were totally addictive. They may already be gone. Next time I make them (which is going to be very very soon), I’m planning on changing it up a little bit and incorporating protein powder, pumpkin, and perhaps some dried cranberries. I’ll write what I did below, and I encourage you to experiment and make your own batch!

IMG_1047

Energy Balls

Recipe adapted from Food Doodles

Ingredients:

  •  1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed meal
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Instructions:

  • In a large bowl, add peanut butter, honey and vanilla. Stir to combine ingredients (if it is a bit difficult, you can heat the mixture in the microwave or place the bowl in 1-2 inches of hot water to soften the ingredients).
  • Add the rest of your ingredients and mix well.
  • Place in refrigerator for 30 minutes.
  • Remove mixture and form dough into balls.
  • Place balls into a container and store in refrigerator or freezer.

Note: My energy balls were a bit sticky, and Food Doodles notes that if you do not want them to be as sticky, you can try adding some more dry ingredients to the mixture or rolling the balls in a dry ingredient like coconut. I liked the way mine turned out, but I thought it might be a helpful tidbit of knowledge to pass on!

Leave a Reply

