Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day, everybody! Or perhaps a Happy Belated Galentine’s Day is in order (which I just found out about yesterday). I’m not the biggest Valentine’s Day person, although I always enjoy a good holiday-themed craft, so I decided to try my hand at these banana muffins that – dramatic pause – have heart-shaped brownies in them!!

So the key to this, obviously, is the heart-shaped brownies. The website that I got the recipe from explained that she used a heart-shaped cookie cutter to make the brownie shapes. Easy, right? Yes, until you realize that – oh wait a second – you don’t own a heart-shaped cookie cutter.

I briefly contemplated just using the dinosaur cookie cutter that can be found in my apartment instead. “Oh, how funny!” I thought. “If I put the dinosaurs in muffins, it would be like they were fossils, and I could throw a whole dinosaur extinction-themed party! There could be meteors and The Land Before Time memorabilia!”. After realizing that A. I’m crazy and B. the dinosaur cookie cutter was too big anyway, I started my quest to find a heart-shaped cookie cutter.

Note to self: don’t ever try to find seasonal cookie cutters right before the actual holiday. Store after store, my search proved fruitless. I had read somewhere though that you can basically make your own cookie cutter by creating the shape out of cardboard and using it as a tracer. So after deciding I wasn’t going to find a cookie cutter until post-Valentine’s Day, I enlisted the help of Boyfriend and he cut out a few hearts for me. Yay, teamwork!

In the end, all turned out well, and it was fun to cut into the muffins and see the hearts inside! Valentine’s Day craft: accomplished…but I still think that dinosaur party is a good idea.

IMG_1001

Brownie Filled Banana Muffins

Recipe from She Bakes Here

Ingredients/Materials:

  • A pan of your favorite chocolate brownies (can be from a box or a recipe)
  • 1/2 cup butter/margarine, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed well
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Instructions:

  • Make your brownies, and after they have cooled, take a small heart-shaped cookie cutter and cut out 12 hearts.
  • Preheat oven to 350F
  • In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour and soda. Set aside.
  • In a separate bowl, cream together the butter/margarine and brown sugar. Add the eggs, mashed bananas and vanilla extract.
  • Combine the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients and stir together until just mixed (do not over-mix).
  • Prepare your muffin tin with liners and spoon a couple tablespoons of batter into the bottom of the liners. Gently press the heart shaped brownie pieces into the pan, pointy side into the batter. Make sure that each heart is facing in the same direction and cover with the remaining batter.
  • Bake for 15-17 minutes until the muffins are set and the tops are golden and slightly cracked. Remove from the pan and let cool on a wired rack.

Note: The original poster also noted using chocolate chips to place on either side of the heart on top of the rest of the muffin batter so that you know where to cut in order to reveal the heart. I didn’t do this, but it definitely would take some of the guess work out of the process in case you forget which way your placed your hearts!

Leave a Reply

