My Family’s Cookbook: Pastrami Dip

We all have those meals that remind us of something every time we have them, like celebrating the holidays or going to the same vacation spot every summer. For me, most of those recipes are connected to my family somehow and can all be found in our family cookbook. One year for Christmas, my parents decided to gather all of the popular recipes from my extended family and put them together in a bound book. Everybody received a copy of the book, and now that I’m a little older, I enjoy looking through it and thinking about the certain occasions various recipes remind me of.

Since most of my favorite family recipes just so happen to be found in this cookbook, I decided it would be fun to make one each week and share it with you all here! To start us off, I decided to make Pastrami Dip. It’s pretty terrible for you, which is why we pretty much limit our intake of it to Christmas and New Years Eve, but it’s just so good that I had to share it! So grab a mixing bowl, ignore the possible negative health effects, and whip up a batch of this! And don’t forget some crackers for dipping – I mean, I suppose you could go with carrots or some other vegetable but come on, if you’re making Pastrami Dip, you might as well go all the way and just grab the crackers. So check out the recipe below, and make sure to stop by again on Monday for a new post!

Pastrami Dip

Warm Pastrami Dip

Ingredients:

  • 1 14 oz. can artichoke hearts, drained and coarsely chopped
  • 6 oz. pastrami, finely chopped
  • 8 oz. sour cream
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon horseradish
  • 1 tablespoon fresh dill
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesian

Instructions:

  • Combine all ingredients, pour into baking dish. Bake at 350 until bubbly and slightly browned. Serve with bagel chips and crackers.
Leave a Reply

